The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters is proud to announce the seventeenth Royal Academy Nobel Laureate Lecture. 

Professor John Walker shared his Nobel Prize in 1997 with the American chemist Paul D. Boyer for their "elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate". They also shared the prize with Danish chemist Jens C. Skou for research unrelated to theirs (Discovery of the Na+/K+-ATPase), Skou died earlier this year at the age of 99. 

Sir John Walker is Emeritus Director and Professor at the MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit in Cambridge, and a Fellow of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge.