On the occasion of the 200th birthday of Brewer J.C. Jacobsen in 2011, the Carlsberg Foundation established two Research Prizes – one is presented to a scientist within the natural sciences, and one is awarded to a scientist within the humanities or social sciences respectively. The prizes are awarded once a year, and each prize is worth 1 million Danish Kroner. The 1 million Danish Kroner per prize is to be divided between further research work (750.000) and a personal award (250.000). 

The two prizes are awarded to active scientists of any nationality employed in a Danish research institution or Danish scientists living abroad who have contributed considerably to basic research and are widely recognized in the scientific environment. The prizes are thought to incite further research. 

The prizes will be presented by Her Royal Highness Crown Princess Mary at a ceremony at the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek in Copenhagen on Sunday September 5th, 2021. 

Nominators and nominees
  • Candidates must be active scientists of any nationality employed in a Danish research institution or Danish scientists living and working abroad
  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Research institutions in Denmark and scholars in Denmark and abroad may nominate a candidate
  • Candidates must be active researchers, meaning that they are not yet retired from their employment/occupation at the time of nomination
  • Candidates that have been nominated on earlier occasions may be nominated again
  • Neither nominator nor nominee needs to be a member of the Royal Danish AcademyNeither nominator nor nominee needs to be a holder of a grant from the Carlsberg Foundation

Award Criteria
The outstanding candidates have/must be:
  • Demonstrated outstanding impact and performance in research
  • Transformed, changed, moved, or challenged disciplines
  • Contributed to science by rethinking or changing data, theories and/or methods
  • A role model for younger scholars

The recipients of the prizes are selected by an international prize committee set up by the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters and the Carlsberg Foundation. Please find more information on the prize committee here

Please fill in the form below (or click link here) and attach one full PDF with 1) a motivation for the nomination (3 pages maximum) and 2) a CV, preferably including a list of publications, in the order mentioned.

All nominations must be in English and must be submitted on Monday May 10th, 2021 at 12.00 a.m. 

For further information, please contact Mette Miller Danielsen on mda@royalacademy.dk.